Look Ma No Lens, Part II

We wrapped up our first assignment this week (we had to turn in a total of 10 pinhole camera prints). I shared my first round of pinhole images last week and this week I will share a few more that I used to round out my assignment.

All of the color images presented on this blog (and the last) were shot pinhole style with my Nikon D3100 body. As I started working with the camera I realized that I really liked the way that the pinhole delineated the human figure through soft lined highlights and contrasting fuzzy shadows. Once I realized this I really started searching out the proper soft, filtered light to obtain the results that I was after. Even though the process with the digital pinhole is quicker than my container pinholes there is still quite a bit of lag time and long exposures needed so the process didn’t ‘feel’ the same as when I shoot digital. The slower process of creating pinholes really makes you appreciate your images even more! And if you capture what you are after, or more than you were after you feel like you have earned a real prize of an image (the opposite of fairies loosing wings!)!

I ended up really enjoying the entire pinhole process, and I am confident that I will re-visit pinhole images at some point. Pinhole confidence is definitely a great ‘tool’ to have in my toolbox, and because I made my second digital camera body pinhole camera capable I can easily shoot a few images here and there when I get the urge.

I printed my final images on glossy paper because I really wanted my highlights to glint off the paper. For different reasons with the black and white verse the color, but the paper worked equally well for both. It always feels nice to have physical images in your hand instead of working on a purely digital platform, and I think this course is going to offer the perfect combination for me. I do not have to shoot film, but I still get to work with my images in a very hands on manner!

Here are the rest of my images for this particular process:

Chester_Pinhole02 Chester_Pinhole03 Chester_Pinhole04 Chester_Pinhole05 Chester_Pinhole06 Chester_Pinhole08 Chester_Pinhole16

We have moved on to cyanotypes in class, I am having a grand time using the sun to expose images, and the blue toning of the chemistry is quite dreamy. There is also the element of using these historical processes that really makes me understand all those tid-bits I had to learn about in my first ‘Art’ course the History of Photography. I remember learning to identify Anna Atkins cyanotypes for my test, trying to understand what photograms and cyanotypes were (I had never seen anything like them before that class, nor did I understand printing processes, and now I have created my very own! Mine are not photograms, but from digital negative transparencies that I created, merging historical process with modern technology, which is a perfect marriage in my book. I like the fact that I can work with a historical process in such a modern way. I am always trying to merge my past education in Geology with my current studies and it feels good to merge past and present even if it is not a personal, internal type merge.

One thought on “Look Ma No Lens, Part II

  1. I love the sense of nostalgia you get with the digital photographs, theres something reminiscing of the past in a mysterious and soft way. They look vague enough to relate to anyone, and that makes it possible for these images to bring up past memories for anyone, whatever they might be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

