Photo Grids

Chester_grid_04

Allyson Glass

This project was completed as an assignment for a photography course, the only requirement was that there were at least 20 images in each grid.  The glass fragments were weathered naturally by the Pacific Ocean, and were gifted to me by a friend who collected them from a ‘glass’ beach in California.  They are about a half inch to an inch in size and the white/clear ones remind me of ice and glaciers whose edges have been softened by melting.  I really love the bright green fragment and would have put more in, but it was the only one in this size range that was worn through enough to the let the light through.

My second grid was completed with beer bottle caps and while this was not quite as enjoyable as drinking the beer, I still had fun arranging all the different colored caps in my grid.  I had originally made one big grid that contained 50 caps, but I decided I like how they looked better in two squares formatted to contain 25 caps each.  The beer snob in me didn’t really want to put any domestic caps in, but in the end if I liked the design or colors the cap made the cut.  Perhaps in the future I can narrow my selections down into themes, I am sure it will be darn hard to force myself to drink beer for this purpose.

Guzzle-1

Guzzle-1

Guzzle-2

Guzzle-2

My little stool top studio that I set up to shoot the glass frags and bottle caps.

My little stool top studio that I set up to shoot the glass frags and bottle caps.

I played around with different color layouts with the actual bottle caps before deciding on my final pattern in InDesign.

I played around with different color layouts with the actual bottle caps before deciding on my final pattern in InDesign.

Glass fragments sorted by size.

Glass fragments sorted by size.

4 thoughts on “Photo Grids

Leave a Reply

